Happy Independence Day Nigeria 



Happy Independence Day Nigeria!!

My homeland, my father land, my mother land, my sister land and brother land. On this day October 1st 2016 I wish you a joyous birthday celebration. 

Do you guys remember how Independence Day last year was celebrated?? With people praising Buhari for cutting cost and not wasting money on the celebration like the past administration did?? Well I haven’t heard anyone praise him about anything he has done for this country since then. 

On my birthday every year, i sit down to reflect. I don’t praise myself about my past achievements, rather I seek ways to achieve my future ambitions. I develop a strategy and I keep to it. And if another birthday comes and I still haven’t reached my goal(s), I feel very sad and depressed. My President promised me A Naira to a Dollar. My president promised my unemployed brothers and sisters 5000 naira monthly. My President promised my younger ones Free meals in school and many more unfulfilled promises I can’t recall right now.  

If you go to the market today and try pricing anything, what you will get from the vendors mouth is ‘in this change?’… I’m a lawyer in Equity and i attend my uncles chambers every holiday to work and learn the business but two weeks ago I stopped. I’m a student so I don’t get paid, the only thing which motivated me was the free bole he always bought for me every afternoon but this holiday the story changed o. My Aunty who always gave me plenty money now gives me 2k 😂😂

Some teachers have not been paid salaries in God knows how long. There are a lot of people who no longer eat three square meals in a day. Beggars and mad people on the streets have increased o, in case you haven’t noticed and many other troubles in our society that stems from the condition of our economy and insecurity. Should I talk Niger Delta Avengers or Boko Haram insurgency(though they aren’t as notorious as before but my sisters are still missing) abi it’s Nepa that cuts your light after paying your light bills when you no dey even see the light). #NaWa

Apart from the sports world can somebody please remind me of the good place we are at in this country globally?? The Rich are getting Richer and the Poor are getting Poorer. I didn’t see any boutique display green and white dresses this period and neither did I hear anyone say they bought green and white to celebrate Independence today. The essence of this long post is just to ask some simple questions. If you are 56, broke and your children are suffering daily, how will you feel?? Will you still celebrate your birthday and thank God for life?? Be honest with yourself, those are rhetorical questions. I hope you get my point. May God elevate us all, as individuals and as a nation. I anxiously await the day I can proudly say I’m Nigerian with a smirk.

7 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day Nigeria 

  1. Happy Independence Day!! 🎀🎈🎆🎆🎂📱🎊🎍🎊🎇🎇🎃🎀🎁🎈🎆🎈🎀🎀🎍🎉🎇🎃🎀🎁🎈🎆🎆🎂🎍🎍🎉🎉🎃🎄🎂🎈🎆🎆🎐🎌🎏🎍🎋🎎🎉🎁🎈🎐🎐☎🎆🎂🎁🎍🎊🎉🎃🎀🎂🎈🎆

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Independence day to your country. I know how you feel. My country also were in bondage from the greediness of the oligarchs, a scar left by our oppressor for 300 years…POOR BECAME POORER AND CORRUPTION HAD REACHED TO HEAVEN…until we have a new President… International media called him the PUNISHER.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They say a fool at 40 is a fool forever. Nigeria is over 40. The question is…. Does it mean that this adage is playing out in this country?
    Happy Independence day to y’all

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

